My COMPAQ PRESARIO CQ45-110AU

My Compaq Presario
My Compaq Presario

This is a multimedia notebook, with vista basic pre-installed. There is a quick play button for playing dvd without booting Vista, but what happen is you still boot vista before you accessed the quick play. With AMD turion X2 2.2Ghz and ATI radeon HD 3200 shared VGA, you might think that this is a gaming notebook. Yes it is, but some upgrade must be done if you want a perfect gaming experience. I have to say, I was rather disapointed to have windows vista basic pre-installed in this series, it was run very slow on both startup and shutdown. With 1Gb RAM its not a good choice to expect excellent processing in multitasking. With windows vista multitasking makes everythings runs very slow and annoying to me.
So i decided to have ubuntu 8.10 running on this notebook. I relieve to installed ubuntu 8.10 amd64 without any problems. But problems then comes again when I have to manually installed the ATI Radeon HD 3200. And the biggest and most annoying problem is, it has no sound. You can’t hear any sounds. I have searchs any solution for this problem on forums, but it was a dead end. The last choice is to take this to the advance. I am going to do that and report anything again.

Not everything goes bad when I use ubuntu intrepid ibex on this notebook, the resolution was perfect, and multitasking was run so good, I’ve try to run multiple mozilla browser and a few application with compiz desktopcube enabled, and it run smooth. The wireless device , wich is broadcom, is running well on ubuntu. After first update you’ll find some bug fixed. And when I plug my Nokia 5310 express music with USB cable, the ubuntu recognized it as a wireless device ,or you can say a modem, you can easily use your mobile device as a modem and connect to the internet as long you have configured the packet data authorization on your mobile device.

So, the biggest problem is, that you cant hear any sound. Thats my problem until Ive published this post.

One thought on “My COMPAQ PRESARIO CQ45-110AU

  1. Everything is very open with a very clear description of the issues.
    It was truly informative. Your site is very useful. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

